Kati Eriikka

Piano Duo Concert

Piano Duo Concert
Friday, November 16, 2012
19:00 - All Ages
Kaivokatu 37 06100 Porvoo
Porvoo, Finland 06100
Other Info
Piano duo Anna-Mari Murdvee and Kati Eriikka Arikoski are performing Maurice Ravel and Igos Stravinsky.

This evening in Porvoo we will perform two pieces for piano duet: The Rite of Spring by Igor Stravinsky and Ma Mère l'Oye by Maurice Ravel.

no images were found

Radio YLE Pohjanmaa's little interview (in finnish) of our piano duo:
Radio Yle Pohjanmaa interview


We will start our concert with Ma Mère l'Oye (Mother Goose), which is a musical work by French composer and pianist Maurice Ravel.

Ravel originally wrote this piece as a piano duet for the Godebski children, Mimi and Jean, ages 6 and 7. Ravel dedicated this work for four hands to the children (just as he had dedicated an earlier work, Sonatine to their parents). Here are the movements of this piece:

I. Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant (Pavane of Seeping Beauty)
II. Petit Poucet (Little Tom Thub)
III. Laideronnette, Impératrice des pagodes (Little Ugly Girl, Empress of the Pagodas)
IV. Les entretiens de la Belle et de la Bête (Conversation of Beauty and the Beast)
V. Le jardin féerique (The Fairy Garden)

Sleeping Beauty and Little Tom Thumb were based on the tales of Charles Perrault, while Little Ugly Girl, Empress of the Pagodas was inspired by a tale (The Green Serpent) by Perrault's "rival" Marie-Catherine, Comtesse d'Aulnoy. Beauty and the Beast is based upon the version of Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont. The origin of The Fairy Garden is not entirely known.

After Ravel comes Igor Stravinsky's ballet work The Rite of Spring. It was written for the 1913 Paris season of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes company, with choreography by Vaslav Nijinsky. He also made a four-hand piano arrangement which became the first published version of The Rite; he and the composer Claude Debussy played the first half of this together, in June 1912.

When the ballet was first performed, at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées on 29 May 1913, the avant-garde nature of the music and choreography caused a near-riot in the audience. Nevertheless, Stravinsky's music achieved rapid success as a concert piece, and became recognised as one of the most influential musical works of the 20th century. It is very widely performed in the concert hall, and is frequently revived on the stage.

Part I: L'Adoration de la Terre (Adoration of the Earth)

I Introduction
II Augurs of Spring
III Ritual of Abduction
IV Spring Rounds
V Ritual of the Rival Tribes
VI Procession of the Sage: The Sage
VII Dance of the Earth

Part II: La Sacrifice (The Sacrifice)

VIII Introduction
IX Mystic Circles of the Young Girls
X Glorification of the Chosen One
XI Evocation of the Ancestors
XII Ritual Action of the Ancestors
XIII Sacrificial Dance

« Back to the calendar